Skip to main content

5 Best Cybersecurity Certifications to Earn

By January 24, 2022February 28th, 2024Cyber Security

The Best Cybersecurity Certifications to Earn in 2022:

If you have been following the field of cybersecurity recently, then you may be aware of the fact that there is currently a shortage of qualified cybersecurity talent in the industry. While this may be a challenge for many organizations, this also means that there is a huge opportunity for those looking to dive into the space or move up the ladder – Some experts say that there as many as 3 million unfulfilled cybersecurity jobs worldwide.

A great way to do this is by earning a certification, which are globally recognized and well respected in the field. However, with the sheer amount of certifications available, you might be a little confused as to which ones are morst relevant, and which ones are useful for your career path.

Read on to find out more about key cybersecurity certifications for those looking to dive into the field:

  1. CompTIA Security +

Security+ is a great, vendor-neutral certification for beginners that is designed to test your ability to install and manage systems, mitigate risks, and respond to security incidents. This has the added benefit of being one of the only entry-level certifications that includes performance baed questions that emphasize practical, hands on skills. This is also a great certification for those looking to become security or system administrators, IT specialists, and network engineers.

The best part? There are no formal requirements for this exam! Anybody can sign up and take it. However it is recommended that you take a fair amount of time to study before the exam, and being certified in Network+ is also a plus. Look for the Security+ exam to test things like:

  • Detection of compromised systems
  • Installation, configuration and deployment of network components
  • Implementation of network architecture and system design
  • Installation and management of identity controls
  • Implementation of risk management best practices
  • Implementation and management of wireless security
  1. Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)

The SSCP is another entry-level certification from ISC2 that focuses primarily on IT infrastructure security, and is well suited for those looking to become systems administrators, security analysts and network engineers. It should also bring you up to speed in terms of DoD 8570 Baseline Certification compliance.

During the exam, expect to be tested on topics like:

  • Access controls
  • SecOps Administration
  • Risk Identification and Analysis
  • Cryptography
  • Systems and Application Security
  • Network and Communications Security
  1. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

This certification is intended to get a person to start thinking and behaving like a hacker, and covers things like hacking techniques, education on the latest vulnerabilities, information security laws and standards. Students are put through real time scenarios while also being taught to scan and protect their systems. This certification is perfect for the individual who is looking to become an ethical hacker (obviously).

This test should validate your ability to break into networks and expose security flaws. During the exam, expect to be tested on the following:

  • IT security controls and laws
  • Reconnaissance and Attack Techniques
  • Hacking tactics for networks
  • Cloud computing
  • Cryptography
  1. GIAC Penetration Tester

 This certification tests a wide variety of techniques and concepts related to assessing target network systems for vulnerabilities, and is well suited for those looking to become penetration testers. During the exam, expect to be tested on:

  • Password formats and hashes
  • Exploitation fundamentals
  • Kerberos Attacks
  • Penetration Test Planning
  • Pentesting with Powershell
  • Scannign and Host Discovery
  • Web Application Injection Attacks
  • Web Application Reconnaisance
  1. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

This is a higher level certification that focuses primarily on security policy and management. One of the most commonly mentioned certificates in cybersecurity, this is generally achieved by someone who is at a midpoint in their career. It is recommended that you have at least 5 years of practical work experience before attempting this certification.

During the exam, expect to see items testing:

  • Security and Risk Management
  • Asset Security
  • Security Architecture and engineering
  • Communication and Network Security
  • Security Operations
  • Security Assessment and Testing
  • Software Development and Security